Longmont Turkey Trot 10k

I was not really looking forward to this race today purely because it was supposed to be between 25 and 30 degrees when it started. It seems that I always get winter amnesia and forget how much I love running in colder weather.  I also never remember that unless it’s in the teens or single digits, I do not need to rock my running tights, turtleneck and jacket. Woo I got HOT!

Best part about this race, Josh and I were able to leave our house at 8:30 am for the 9 am start. We parked and walked over to the starting line which we crossed probably 5 minutes later. Perfect! No time for the warmth the heater provided on the car ride over to wear off before my internal heater turned on.

I got to see parts on my fair city that I hadn’t seen in the 3 years that I’ve lived here. It was a nice, easy course and the weather, though chilly, was just about perfect. The sun was shining and there was little wind and no snow or ice to contend with. 

We cruised right along and before I knew it was were at mile 4. This is where I saw local blogger Beth from Shut Up and Run! cheering on her husband and son who were right in front of us.  I tried to be quiet as I yelled over my shoulder to Josh, hey I read her blog. Of course he laughed at me. I’m sure the boys probably heard me and thought that I was a stalker…whatever I was on track for a PR.

The last half mile was hard for me. I was getting hungry, thirsty and really had to pee.  I think I even saw a porta-potty mirage. That’s how bad it was. Finally we made the last turn and crossed the finish line.

Distance: 6.23 miles   Time: 55:58   Avg. Pace: 8:59 min/miles

Update: Official race time (no chip timing) 56:02   Avg. Pace: 9:02 min/miles

We immediately went to The Great Harvest Bread Company’s tent to get some delicious bread (My third piece of the day. I had at home two before the race) since there was no water to be found.  What can I say, I love carbs. 

We headed inside the middle school where Outback was serving lunch (yeah it was only 10 am) so that I could try to find a bathroom. Found them, only three stalls and they smelled so bad I decided I’d rather have my bladder explode than have to stand there waiting in line. Thank goodness for Home Depots nice clean bathrooms.

This was my second 10k so automatically a PR from the BolderBoulder I ran on Memorial Day 2009 before my first marathon.  It was a great way to start the day, especially since I wasn’t even trying to PR.  Poor Josh started having some knee pain but ran the whole way with me. I’m sure that he could have totally kicked my ass in this race but it was really nice for us to run together.

Off to grout the tile in the bathroom. You’re jealous I know.

About Jess @ milehighjess

I'm 29 and live in Colorado with my husband, two kiddos (Ella and Anderson) and wildly hyper dog. I love to run, cook, travel.
This entry was posted in Josh, Races, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longmont Turkey Trot 10k

  1. Anna says:

    Looks like you had a good run! :)

Leave a Reply

