Run like a girl

First post baby race done. I put on a running skirt and ran like a girl in the SkirtChaser 5k.

I’m still waiting for the official results and photos but according to my Garmin I finished in 29:36. I think the course was a bit short, just under 3 miles.

It was H-O-T-T hot! I’m sure when they planned the race they were thinking, hey it will be October, we better plan it for the hottest part of the day just in case it’s cold.  It was anything but cold. Temps were in mid-80’s when we started. 87 degrees according to my phone.

I also forgot that sometimes when you run outside there are these things called hills. Yeah, the one big hill kicked my ass.  I ran (if you can call it that) all the way up it.

I struggled in the heat. I had to take a couple of walk breaks just to cool off a bit.  If I’d worn my big girl pants I would have been brave enough to take off my mommy shirt (Josh bought it for me at the Boston Marathon expo in April) and rocked the sports bra(s) look.  Not ready to bare that much skin yet. 

When I was actually running I was hitting 9:15-9:30 pace which was exciting for me.  The best part of the race was running on the field at Mile High and of course Ella waiting for me at the finish line.

Big thanks again to Kirsten and Brandon for hanging with my peanut while I ran!

One thought on “Run like a girl

Leave a Reply

