The Hills are Alive

I always forget how exhausting running hills is, probably because there are zero hills by my house. This weekend we were down in Denver to visit family and just hang out. I decided my parent’s house was the perfect place to get in my 8 mile run.

It started off with a run to the grocery store for an emergency bottle. Note to self, pumping is all fine and dandy but if you actually expect someone to feed the baby that milk, you probably need to bring a nipple. Duh. Off to the grocery store I ran, up hill both ways. Now I understand how people say that. You start at the top of the hill, go down, and then back up to where the grocery store is perched. So there I was huffing and puffing my way back down the street with a bottle in my hand. 2.5 miles done.

Bottle handed over and Ella seemingly satisfied after some slightly sweaty boob action, I was off to finish the rest of the run. It’s amazing how small hills look when you’re driving them but how big they are when you have to propel yourself up them. One of my coaches when I was doing Team in Training told me to pretend I was a train while I ran up hills. Looking like an idiot I’m sure, I straighten my arms and mentally did the ‘chugga chugga chugga chugga’ with each hill. It really does help keep my stride steady and keeps me from hunching over in an attempt to power up the hills. Try it, you’ll like it.

I reached the 5th mile when I had to stop at a light to cross the street. Of course I forgot to restart my watch. Being neurotic, I had to backtrack so I knew how far I’d gone, a while .12 miles. Really, Jess was that worth it? Anyway, I saw another gigantic hill which I decided to avoid as it was covered in snow and ice. I did a few laps around a middle school track and then started on the way home.

The last hill, you know the one that you think you’re at the top of, but that’s just a tease because once you’re there you see the next part of it? Yeah, that one killed me; I had to walk a bit. I was tired. Probably should have had more than two GU chomps and a splash of the water that remained after it leaked all over my shirt. Good thing my fuel belt holds the bottles in the back and not the front. Otherwise we may have had a wet t-shirt contest going on.

I made it and it felt good. I surprised myself with my pace. 8.25 miles at 9:38 pace. Of course then I was completely exhausted. Obviously bbq was the best thing to refuel my body with, though I could have gone for a really greasy cheeseburger and fries. Maybe next week after my 10 miler. Mmmm.

Who else had a great workout this weekend? Or maybe a really delicious burger. :-)

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Hills are Alive

  1. Your little sister Emma and I had a good Friday workout! As many rounds as possible in 20 minutes of: 200 meter run, 25 burpees, 25 squats and 60 second planks. We both did 5 rounds. It sounds easy until you do it. My friend Lauren did 6 1/2 rounds. She is amazing. Did a mile for time this morning at Cross Fit. 8 minutes. Of course, that is 1 mile only. I am so proud of you. I do not know if I will ever run more than 5 or 6 miles at a time ever again. The mud run in June is about 6 miles.
    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

