Memorial Ten

You know the thing about blind dates, sometimes they don’t work out. I got stood up, well not really, but the run didn’t happen. Unfortunately my potential partner’s daughter spent Saturday in the ER at Children’s. As it turns out, it was really for the best that our run didn’t work out. We had a busy day which included Ella’s first birthday party.

That looker, Thomas, is the first of our yoga mommy group of babies to turn one.

It’s hard to believe that just a few months ago they were like this:

Fast forward to this morning, Ella is a mess. I’m almost positive she has another ear infection. You know it’s been like six weeks so naturally it’s time again. Poor thing is super congested and obviously doesn’t feel good. She even slept until 9 this morning after I brought her into our bed around 4:30.

While she was still sleeping I snuck off to get in my missed long run. It was absolutely beautiful outside today! Perfect day to stare at the beautiful mountains as I ran around MacIntosh. My Garmin however did not think it was a perfect day to run and decided to die as soon as I arrived. Back-up plan, MapMyRun on my iPhone.

Pros:

-Liked them telling me every mile my distance, pace and overall time.
-I wasn’t able to stare at the screen and obsess about my pace.

Cons:

-I wasn’t able to stare at the screen and obsess about my pace.

I think the app was a great alternative for my uncooperative watch. I was feeling so good and I enjoying every minute until Josh called me and told me that Ella had a temp of 100. I hurried through the last few miles to get home to my sick baby. I was pleasantly surprised that I ran my fastest 10 miles ever.

Time: 1:24:00   Distance: 10 miles   Avg. Pace: 8:23 min/miles

Hopefully my running date will happen next weekend. How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “Memorial Ten

  1. Awesome job on the 10 miles! I have to admit that I’m a little jealous – it’s been too long since I had a double digit run.

    P.S. Yes, we will be in CO the very last weekend in June. Think Boulder/Louisville area.

Leave a Reply

