A Day in the Life Lately

It’s been quite some time since we’ve done a day in the life post. Now that Anderson is nearly eight months old and Ella inching closer and closer to three (OMG!) here’s a glimpse into how our routines are shaping up.

4 am hour - Yes, it's ungodly early and I'm up. It's been a rough night with both kids. Anderson was up several times and Ella woke us up to tell us she needed to pee, twice. I long slightly for the diaper days and wonder why it is Anderson sleeps like an angel only on weekends. I hop in the shower, put on 90% of my make-up and head downstairs.

4 am hour – Yes, it’s ungodly early and I’m up. It’s been a rough night with both kids. Anderson was up several times and Ella woke us up to tell us she needed to pee, twice. I long slightly for the diaper days and wonder why it is Anderson sleeps like an angel only on weekends. I hop in the shower, put on 90% of my make-up and head downstairs.

5 am hour - Prep for work, nurse Anderson, finish getting dressed and am out the door.

5 am hour – Prep for work, nurse Anderson, finish getting dressed and am out the door.

6 am hour - Arrive at the office. I'm hungry so I warm up my breakfast apple cinnamon and cranberry oatmeal) and eat as I check emails.

6 am hour – Arrive at the office. I’m hungry so I warm up my breakfast (apple cinnamon and cranberry oatmeal) and eat as I check emails.

7 am hour - First pumping session of the day. I bring my laptop with me so that I can answer some of my emails.

7 am hour – First pumping session of the day. I bring my laptop with me so that I can answer some of my emails.

Laptop

8 -10 am hours – Sit through a meeting and it’s time to pump again. I take my snack and laptop with me so that I can eat while I do a module of my content marketing certification course.

Target basket

11 am hour – Another super exciting pumping session followed by writer’s block. I decided it’s the perfect time for a quick trip to Target. I return a few things and try not to accidentally spend $150.

12 pm hour - I'm so proud of myself for making it past 11:15 before eating my lunch. Leftovers...so exciting.

12 pm hour – I’m so proud of myself for making it past 11:15 before eating my lunch. Leftover BBQ chicken and spinach, artichoke and quinoa casserole…so exciting.

Cube

1-2 pm hours – Wrap up my day with another meeting, verify my flight and hotel for a last minute trade show I’m attending at the end of the week, and more emails. I swear the emails never end.

3 pm hour - I'm back in the car and off to get my kiddos. I try to get there by 4 so that I get as much time with them in the evening as possible.

3 pm hour – I’m back in the car and off to get my kiddos. I try to get there by 4:15 so that I get as much time with them in the evening as possible.

Kids playing on the floor

4 pm hour – We’re home! The kids play while I make dinner.

5 pm hour - We all sit at the table for dinner. This is one of my favorite times of day because we catch up on everyone's day. Ella generally induces laughter from Anderson who is babbling away while he tries out the new food of the day.

5 pm hour – We all sit at the table for dinner. This is one of my favorite times of day because we catch up on everyone’s day. Ella generally induces laughter from Anderson who is babbling away while he tries out the new food of the day.

Reading to Ella

6 pm hour – It’s bedtime for Anderson – diaper change, jammies and we’re ready to head upstairs to rock and nurse. Josh and Ella play and start her bedtime routine.

7 pm  hour - Bedtime for Ella. We follow these easy steps and pray that she'll fall asleep by 9.

7 pm hour – Bedtime for Ella. We go through these easy steps and pray that she’ll fall asleep by 9.

8 pm hour - With both kids in bed, I'm off to the gym for my run.

8 pm hour – With both kids in bed, I’m off to the gym for my run. I’m not the only one who loves watching Food Network while exercising am I?

9 pm hour - Arrive home and start prepping for the next day. I transfer milk into Anderson's bottles for daycare, pack up a solid of some kind for him and make my breakfast/lunch. Hop in the shower to rinse before getting into bed.

9 pm hour – Arrive home and start prepping for the next day. I transfer milk into Anderson’s bottles for daycare, pack up a solid of some kind for him and make my breakfast/lunch. Hop in the shower to rinse before getting into bed.

10 pm hour - Yes, I'm in bed! Shit is that Anderson crying? Ok, quick nursing session and I'm off to sleep.

10 pm hour – Yes, I’m in bed! Shit is that Anderson crying? Ok, quick nursing session and I’m off to sleep.

 

4 thoughts on “A Day in the Life Lately

  1. I love to watch “Chopped” on the bike. The competition gets so intense that I actually get in a good workout!

    Your day makes me tired. I give you mad props for running at night – I can only do easy runs after bed. Assuming Miles doesn’t take 300 hours to go to sleep. And, can I just say that potty training, though great, is annoying come bed time/early am.

    Also, I really hope you are ready for me to hijack your runs in July :)

  2. I have never left a comment here, but LOVE reading your blog. It gives me hope that my husband and I can make busy careers, a family, and our love for exercise and healthy nutrition work! Although I must admit, I was a little tired just reading your busy day! You are a rock star!!

  3. Hi! I just hopped over from SUAR b/c I love Day in the Life posts. Our girls will be 3 and 1 this July so i TOTALLY feel you.. ARen’t kids supposed to sleep more than this? Ugh. Total respect for you pumping and working. LIke seriously, you deserve a HUGE award/medal. I think there should be mommy awards for things like actually sweeping up the ginormous crumbs that materialize every day and making meals.. It’s so much work! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

